Skip to main content

Waiting on Wednesday: The Confectioner's Tale by Laura Madeleine

 "Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that you are eagerly anticipating.

Today, I am waiting on:  
The Confectioner's Tale by Laura Madeleine



From Goodreads:
What secrets are hiding in the heart of Paris?

At the famous Patisserie Clermont in Paris, 1909, a chance encounter with the owner's daughter has given one young man a glimpse into a life he never knew existed: of sweet cream and melted chocolate, golden caramel and powdered sugar, of pastry light as air.

But it is not just the art of confectionery that holds him captive, and soon a forbidden love affair begins.

Almost eighty years later, an academic discovers a hidden photograph of her grandfather as a young man with two people she has never seen before. Scrawled on the back of the picture are the words 'Forgive me'. Unable to resist the mystery behind it, she begins to unravel the story of two star-crossed lovers and one irrevocable betrayal.

Take a moment to savour an evocative, bittersweet love story that echoes through the decades – perfect for fans of Kate Morton, Rachel Hore and Victoria Hislop. 
Paris and confections?! Count me in! The Confectioner's Tale is scheduled to be released on September 20, 2016, and I really want to read this one!

What books are you waiting on this Wednesday??


Comments

  1. Forgive me? That is never good. I wonder what she finds.

    My WOW

    ReplyDelete
  2. That's a totally new to me one! Hope you enjoy it!

    Here's my WoW

    Have a GREAT day!

    Old Follower :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. That cover is gorgeous!! I agree Paris and confections and I am sold!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Be still my heart, Paris and confections! YUM! Here's mine: http://editingeverything.com/blog/2016/08/24/waiting-on-wednesday-city-of-strangers/

    ReplyDelete
  5. Such a pretty cover! Great pick and I hope it turns out to be a fabulous read as well!

    ReplyDelete
  6. I love novels that straddle two different time periods and it sounds like this one might do just that. Plus, a Paris setting... at a patisserie? How can you go wrong? :)

    ReplyDelete
  7. I love that cover! But the with "bittersweet" and "star-crossed" describing the romance, I doubt this would be a story for me. Hope you enjoy it, Eva! :)

    ReplyDelete
  8. This sounds like just my kind of book! Great pick, adding to my TBR!

    ReplyDelete
  9. Wow, I love that cover and this sounds so good. I haven't heard of this one yet, but I'm adding it on GR. :D

    ReplyDelete
  10. This looks so amazing!!! I love the idea of a patisserie as the setting, and then a mystery too! Thanks for sharing Eva!
    here's my WoW!

    ReplyDelete
  11. Hmm...this one sounds interesting. It's outside of what I normally read, but it might be worth branching out. Good pick!

    WOW
    Sandy @ Somewhere Only We Know

    ReplyDelete
  12. This looks good. I've added it to my TBR list. Enjoy!

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Valentine’s Day Book Tag

I saw Grace @ Rebel Mommy Book Blog do this and it looked fun!  This tag was created by CC's books!
 Stand Alone Book You Love Dystopian Book You Love A Book That You Love But No One Else Talks About Favorite Book Couple Olivia and Caleb from The Opportunist Book That Other People Love But You Haven’t Gotten Around to Read  A Book With Red On The Cover
A Book With Pink On The Cover
You were given a box of chocolate. What fictional boyfriend would have given them to you?

Review: History of Wolves by Emily Fridlund

History of Wolves by Emily Fridlund

Blurb from Goodreads:
Linda has an idiosyncratic home life: her parents live in abandoned commune cabins in northern Minnesota and are hanging on to the last vestiges of a faded counter-culture world. The kids at school call her 'Freak', or 'Commie'. She is an outsider in all things. Her understanding of the world comes from her observations at school, where her teacher is accused of possessing child pornography, and from watching the seemingly ordinary life of a family she babysits for. Yet while the accusation against the teacher is perhaps more innocent than it seemed at first, the ordinary family turns out to be more complicated. As Linda insinuates her way into the family's orbit, she realises they are hiding something. If she tells the truth, she will lose the normal family life she is beginning to enjoy with them; but if she doesn't, their son may die. Superbly-paced and beautifully written, HISTORY OF WOLVES is an extrao…

What to Read if You Love The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

This & That – 2 Books with Strong Friendships, a Quest, and SHIPs!This and That” is a feature created by Megan @ Reading Books Likes a Bossand borrowed here with permission. Megan created this feature and I owe this post to her brilliance.  Not only should you check out her blog, generally, but her This & That recommendations are utterly perfect! Megan created this feature to showcase books that either sound similar or have similar themes, and thus I am recommending that you read the "that book" because you are a a fan of the “this book.” 
About the Books: THE RAVEN BOYS (The Raven Cycle #1) by Maggie Stiefvater Every year, Blue Sargent stands next to her clairvoyant mother as the soon-to-be dead walk past. Blue never sees them--until this year, when a boy emerges from the dark and speaks to her.His name is Gansey, a rich student at Aglionby, the local private school. Blue has a policy of staying away from Aglionby boys. Known as Raven Boys, they can only mean trouble.