Skip to main content

Posts

Showing posts from September, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday: Dear Fang, With Love by Rufi Thorpe

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that you are eagerly anticipating.

Today, I am waiting on:  
Dear Fang, With Love by Rufi Thorpe



From Goodreads: From the acclaimed author of The Girls from Corona del Mar, a sprawling, ambitious new novel about a young father who takes his teenage daughter to Europe, hoping that an immersion in history might help them forget his past mistakes and her uncertain future.

Lucas and Katya were boarding school seniors when, blindingly in love, they decided to have a baby. Seventeen years later, after years of absence, Lucas is a weekend dad, newly involved in his daughter Vera's life. But after Vera suffers a terrifying psychotic break at a high school party, Lucas takes her to Lithuania, his grandmother's homeland, for the summer. Here, in the city of Vilnius, Lucas hopes to save Vera from the sorrow of her diagnosis. As he uncovers a secret about his grandmother, a Home…

Review: Say Yes to the Death (Debutante Dropout #6) by Susan McBride

Say Yes to the Death (Debutante Dropout #6) by Susan McBride

Blurb from Goodreads:
Someone old, someone cruel

Debutante dropout Andrea Kendricks is beyond done with big hair, big gowns, and big egos—so being dragged to a high-society Texas wedding by her socialite mama, Cissy, gives her a bad case of déjà vu. As does running into her old prep-school bully, Olivia La Belle, the wedding planner, who's graduated to berating people for a living on her reality TV show. But for all the times Andy wished her dead, nobody deserves Olivia's fate: lying in a pool of blood, a cake knife in her throat—but did the angry baker do it?


Millicent Draper, the grandmotherly owner of Millie's Cakes, swears she's innocent, and Andy believes her. Unfortunately, the cops don't. Though Andy's fiancé, lawyer Brian Malone, is handling Millie's case, she's determined to spring Millie herself. But where to start? "La Belle from Hell" had enemies galore. Good thing Andy has a…

Review: Vintage by David Baker

Vintage: A Novel by David Baker

Blurb from Goodreads:
A humorous and evocative debut novel about a food journalist's desperate attempt to save his career--and possibly, his marriage--by tracking an extremely valuable bottle of wine stolen by the Nazis over half a century ago.

Ten years ago, Bruno Tannenbaum was a passionate food journalist with a respected newspaper column, a popular segment on the evening news, and a bestselling guide to relationships through food. These days, Bruno is a passionate 'has-been' living on his mother's couch, separated from his wife and daughters, eating his way through an ever-dwindling bank account, faced with the gnawing doubt that he'll never be the writer he once was.

Then Bruno stumbles on the secret to a 'lost vintage' of wine, stolen by the Nazis during the Second World War and presumed lost to the world for good. Recognizing his one chance at reviving his career, he scrapes together his last resources and sets off on an e…

Review: The Girl in the Maze by R.K. Jackson

The Girl in the Maze by R.K. Jackson

Blurb from Goodreads:
Perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, Paula Hawkins, and Tana French, R. K. Jackson's lyrical, twisty psychological thriller debut follows an aspiring journalist as she uncovers dark truths in a seaswept Southern town—aided by a mysterious outcast and pursued by a ruthless killer.

When Martha Covington moves to Amberleen, Georgia, after her release from a psychiatric ward, she thinks her breakdown is behind her. A small town with a rich history, Amberleen feels like a fresh start. Taking a summer internship with the local historical society, Martha is tasked with gathering the stories of the Geechee residents of nearby Shell Heap Island, the descendants of slaves who have lived by their own traditions for the last three hundred years.

As Martha delves into her work, the voices she thought she left behind start whispering again, and she begins to doubt her recovery. When a grisly murder occurs, Martha finds herself at the center o…

UNPOPULAR OPINION BOOK TAG!

Thank you for tagging me,Lisa & Becca @ Lost In Literature! A POPULAR BOOK/SERIES THAT YOU DIDN’T LIKE
I could not get into this one -- I was bored to tears and DNF'd! A BOOK/SERIES EVERYONE ELSE HATES, BUT YOU LOVE
I adore this series !!!!!! A LOVE TRIANGLE WHERE THE MC ENDED UP WITH THE PERSON THAT YOU DIDN’T WANT TO END UP WITH -OR- AND OTP THAT YOU DIDN’T LIKE
I hate Miles and Tate together.  There I said it. A POPULAR BOOK GENRE THAT YOU RARELY REACH FOR
Historical Fantasy A POPULAR OR BELOVED CHARACTER THAT YOU DO NOT LIKE
I'm sorry but I will never trust Snape! A POPULAR AUTHOR THAT YOU CAN’T SEEM TO GET INTO


Alice Clayton --

Review: Drowning Is Inevitable by Shalanda Stanley

Drowning Is Inevitable by Shalanda Stanley

Blurb from Goodreads:
Olivia has spent her whole life struggling to escape her dead mother’s shadow. But when her father can’t even look at her because Olivia reminds him of her mother, and her grandmother mistakenly calls her “Lillian,”  shaking a reputation she didn’t ask for is next to impossible. Olivia is used to leaning on her best friend, Jamie; her handsome but hot-tempered boyfriend, Max; and their wild-child friend, Maggie, for the reality check that her small Louisiana town can’t provide. But when a terrible fight between Jamie and his father turns deadly, all Olivia can think to do is grab her friends and run. 

In a flash, Olivia, Jamie, Max, and Maggie become fugitives on the back roads of Louisiana. They’re headed to New Orleans, where they hope to find a solution to an unfixable problem. But with their faces displayed on all the news stations, their journey becomes a harrowing game of hide-and-seek from the police—and so-called al…