Skip to main content

Posts

Showing posts from 2015

Waiting on Wednesday: Mirror in the Sky by Aditi Khorana

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that you are eagerly anticipating.

Today, I am waiting on:  
Mirror in the Sky by Aditi Khorana



From Goodreads: An evocative debut, perfect for fans of Tommy Wallach's We All Looked Up, about the discovery of a mirror planet to Earth and how it dramatically changes the course of one Indian-American girl's junior year.

For Tara Krishnan, navigating Brierly, the academically rigorous prep school she attends on scholarship, feels overwhelming and impossible. Her junior year begins in the wake of a startling discovery: A message from an alternate Earth, light years away, is intercepted by NASA. This means that on another planet, there is another version of Tara, a Tara who could be living better, burning brighter, because of tiny differences in her choices. 

The world lights up with the knowledge of Terra Nova, the mirror planet, and Tara’s life on Earth begins to change.…

2015 End of Year Book Survey

2015 End of Year Book Survey:(hosted by Jamie @ The Perpetual Pageturner)
Number of books I read: 211.

Number of re-reads: 24.
Genre I read the most from: Contemporary adult.



Best Book I read in 2015?  See my list HERE
tl; dr:  The Truth According to Us by Annie Barrows

Book you were excited and thought you were gonna love more but didn’t?
Again, I don't know if it's blogging and having access to so many books but I am  finding it harder and harder to find those stand-outs.  My biggest disappointment of 2015 was The Royal We -- I'm still sad/angry thinking about it!!  The Ruby Circle was also a terrible end to a great series

Most surprising (in a good or bad way) book you read in 2015?
The Others series by Anne Bishop -- I wasn't sure if I could get into a new urban fantasy series and I was blown away!  I can't wait for the next book!!

Book you pushed people to read?
The Deal, Steering the Stars

Best series you started in 2015? Best Sequel of 2015? Best Series Ender of 2015?
B…

Review: Prejudice & Pride by Lynn Messina

Prejudice & Pride by Lynn Messina

Blurb from Goodreads:
You know Darcy: rich, proud, standoffish, disapproving, one of the greatest romantic heroes of all time. But you don't know this Darcy because THIS Darcy is a woman. 

In PREJUDICE & PRIDE, Lynn Messina’s modern retelling with a gender-bendy twist, everything is vaguely familiar and yet wholly new. Bingley is here, in the form of Charlotte "Bingley" Bingston, an heiress staying at the Netherfield hotel on Central Park, as is Longbourn, transformed from an ancestral home into a perennially cash-strapped art museum on the edge of the city. Naturally, it employs an audacious fundraiser with an amused glint in his eye called Bennet. 

All the favorite characters are present and cleverly updated: Providing the cringe-worthy bon mots is Mr. Meryton, the nerve-wracked executive director of the Longbourn who’s always on the lookout for heiresses to join his museum’s very important committees. (Universally acknowledged tru…

Waiting on Wednesday: Love, Lies & Spies by Cindy Anstey

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that you are eagerly anticipating.

Today, I am waiting on:  
Love, Lies & Spies by Cindy Anstey



From Goodreads: Juliana Telford is not your average nineteenth-century young lady. She’s much more interested in researching ladybugs than marriage, fashionable dresses, or dances. So when her father sends her to London for a season, she’s determined not to form any attachments. Instead, she plans to secretly publish their research.

Spencer Northam is not the average young gentleman of leisure he appears. He is actually a spy for the War Office, and is more focused on acing his first mission than meeting eligible ladies. Fortunately, Juliana feels the same, and they agree to pretend to fall for each other. Spencer can finally focus, until he is tasked with observing Juliana’s traveling companions . . . and Juliana herself.  Um, regency and spies?!  Sign me up!  Love, Lies &…

Review: Where All Light Tends to Go by David Joy

Where All Light Tends to Go by David Joy

Blurb from Goodreads:
In the country-noir tradition of Winter's Bone meets 'Breaking Bad,' a savage and beautiful story of a young man seeking redemption.

The area surrounding Cashiers, North Carolina, is home to people of all kinds, but the world that Jacob McNeely lives in is crueler than most. His father runs a methodically organized meth ring, with local authorities on the dime to turn a blind eye to his dealings. Having dropped out of high school and cut himself off from his peers, Jacob has been working for this father for years, all on the promise that his payday will come eventually.  The only joy he finds comes from reuniting with Maggie, his first love, and a girl clearly bound for bigger and better things than their hardscrabble town.

Jacob has always been resigned to play the cards that were dealt him, but when a fatal mistake changes everything, he’s faced with a choice: stay and appease his father, or leave the mountains w…

Top Ten Best Books I Read In 2015

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the fab ladies at The Broke and the Bookish!

1.The Truth According to Usby Annie Barrows



I can't stop thinking about this book, six months later.  Absolutely unparalleled for me this year.  I still feel like I crawled into a lost Carson McCullers reading this book.  My review HERE

2. Last Night in Montrealand Station Elevenby Emily St. John Mandel



Emily St. John Mandel's words are haunting -- I normally do not include books on my list not released the same year of the list but my exception is these two!  My review of Last Night in MontrealHERE.
3.Where All Light Tends to Goby David Joy



I just finished this book late Saturday night/early Sunday morning and I'm so glad I did because I can't imagine it not on this list.  My review will be posted this Thursday but the voice in this book -- absolutely astonishing!

4.The Deal (Off-Campus #1) by Elle Kennedy



Please do not let this cover fool you!  This is such a good book-- so steamy, funny, and tender…

Review: Rendezvous in Point Reyes (West Coast Holiday #3) by Elisabeth Barrett

Rendezvous in Point Reyes (West Coast Holiday #3) by Elisabeth Barrett

Blurb from Goodreads:
For shy, quiet Stella Flynn, love is an illusion. After a rough divorce, all she wants is to make a fresh start and get on with her life. Unfortunately, she spends all her waking hours working at her family’s Napa Valley winery alongside her ex, the assistant winemaker. Unable to bear the thought of spending another weekend surrounded by lovey-dovey couples, especially after suffering through a lonely holiday season, she escapes to Point Reyes to wallow. Little does she know that an old family friend has other plans …

Sexy, free-spirited Jason Roberts has secretly been in love with Stella for years. The problem? She’s his best friend’s younger sister, and Stella’s brother would kill him if he ever broke her heart. Besides, Jace is pretty sure that Stella thinks of him like another brother, not a lover. But then he notices the way she’s looking at him, and one perfect kiss changes everything.

Over …

Waiting on Wednesday: The Sight (Devil's Isle #2) by Chloe Neill

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that you are eagerly anticipating.

Today, I am waiting on:  
The Sight (Devil's Isle #2) by Chloe Neill



From Goodreads: The paranormal war that engulfed New Orleans seven years ago is over. But the battle for the city is just beginning . . . 

Claire Connolly is a Sensitive, infected with magic when the Veil that divides humanity from the world beyond fell. Magic can easily consume and destroy a Sensitive, and if Claire’s secret is discovered she’ll be locked into the walled district of Devil’s Isle along with every other Paranormal left in the city.

Bounty hunter Liam Quinn discovered Claire’s secret, but refused to turn her in. Together they saved New Orleans from the resurgence of magic that nearly destroyed it. But now a dangerous cult is on the rise, and it will take both Claire and Liam—and magical allies within Devil’s Isle’s towering walls—to defeat the occult thre…