Pages

Tuesday, August 30, 2016

This & That: Movie Edition #2

This & That – Movie Edition!!

This and That” is a feature created by Megan @ Reading Books Likes a Boss and borrowed here with permission. Megan created this feature and I owe this post to her brilliance.  Not only should you check out her blog, generally, but her This & That recommendations are utterly perfect! Megan created this feature to showcase books that either sound similar or have similar themes, and thus I am recommending that you read the "that book" because you are a a fan of the “this book.” 


About the Media:

Summer of Supernovas by Darcy Woods
Fans of Jennifer E. Smith and Jenny Han will fall in love with this heartfelt and humor-laced debut following one girl’s race to find the guy of her cosmic dreams.

When zodiac-obsessed teen Wilamena Carlisle discovers a planetary alignment that won’t repeat for a decade, she’s forced to tackle her greatest astrological fear: The Fifth House—relationships and love. 

But when Wil falls for a sensitive guitar player hailing from the wrong side of the astrology chart, she must decide whether a cosmically doomed love is worth rejecting her dead mother’s legacy and the very system she’s faithfully followed through a lifetime of unfailing belief.  

Lucky Seven
Before Amy Myer's mother died when Amy was 7, she planned out the little girl's life on a timeline, including the fact that Amy would marry her 7th boyfriend. When Amy falls in love with #6, she's thrown into a tailspin, because all of her mother's advice had worked perfectly. Now she must decide whether to follow her mother's advice and wait for #7, or follow her own heart.


The Why:

Summer of Supernovas has been one of my favorite debuts this year -- quirky and fun, it's such a great YA read!  In the book, Wil is obsessed with finding a true love that matches the zodiac chart/birthday her mom prepared before she died.  This premise immediately reminded me of Lucky Seven because in this movie, Amy is obsessed with following her mom's timeline (that she wrote for her before she died) for who she should marry.  Both of these are interesting because the heroines both have such an obsession with these pieces of the past as each relates to who they should fall in love with.  They are both fun, funny and romantic so I definitely recommend and think you will love the book if you liked the movie and vice versa!

So, what do you think?  Have you read Summer of Supernovas or seen Lucky Seven?  Isn't this a fun pairing?! 
Do you have a favorite This & That pairing?  Let me know!

8 comments:

  1. I love the movie Lucky Seven. Haven't read the book featured but that movie can make me stop everything.

    ReplyDelete
  2. How cute does Lucky 7 sound? I have to try and check it out. I swear, some days, I feel like I need a zodiac chart to tell me what to do for my life lol

    ReplyDelete
  3. The cover of Summer of Supernovas catches my attention every single time I see it. I think I'll have to read it one of these days. And Lucky Seven?! How've I not already watched this? It sounds adorable.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I haven't seen Lucky Seven but now I want too since I really liked The Summer Of.., as well.

    ReplyDelete
  5. I haven't read this book or seen this movie!! Both sound great though!

    ReplyDelete
  6. I love Lucky Seven, so I will keep Summer of Supernovas on my list to read.

    ReplyDelete
  7. My sister watched Lucky 7 when it first aired and has been hounding me to watch it ever since. Like, 10+ years. LOL Maybe I should shock her and finally watch it. I mean, there is Patrick Dempsey to drool over. :)

    ReplyDelete
  8. Oh man, that throwback movie! I haven't seen it or read the book but both sound really good and the cute kind of YA that I like (the quirky and fun kind that still have heart). I have the book on my audio wish list!

    Nereyda│ Nick & Nereyda’s Infinite Booklist

    ReplyDelete

 
Imagination Designs