Skip to main content

Waiting on Wednesday: The Most Dangerous Place on Earth by Lindsey Lee Johnson

 "Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that you are eagerly anticipating.

Today, I am waiting on:  
The Most Dangerous Place on Earth by Lindsey Lee Johnson



From Goodreads:
A captivating debut novel for readers of Celeste Ng's Everything I Never Told You and Curtis Sittenfeld's Prep, The Most Dangerous Place on Earth unleashes an unforgettable cast of characters into a realm known for its cruelty and peril: the American high school.

In an idyllic community of wealthy California families, new teacher Molly Nicoll becomes intrigued by the hidden lives of her privileged students. Unknown to Molly, a middle school tragedy in which they were all complicit continues to reverberate for her kids: Nick, the brilliant scam artist; Emma, the gifted dancer and party girl; Dave, the B student who strives to meet his parents expectations; Calista, the hippie outcast who hides her intelligence for reasons of her own. Theirs is a world in which every action may become public postable, shareable, indelible. With the rare talent that transforms teenage dramas into compelling and urgent fiction, Lindsey Lee Johnson makes vivid a modern adolescence lived in the gleam of the virtual, but rich with the sorrow, passion, and beauty of life in any time, and at any age. 
A comparison to Prep will get me every time!  The Most Dangerous Place on Earth is scheduled to be released on January 3, 2017, and I can't wait to read it!

What books are you waiting on this Wednesday??


Comments

  1. This does look good, I hope you love it!

    ReplyDelete
  2. That's a new to me one! Not sure if it's my kind of read but I hope you love it!

    Here's my WoW

    Have a GREAT day!

    Old Follower :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. Looks interesting. I'd be interested in seeing your review for this.

    ReplyDelete
  4. That blurb sounded so vague. It definitely makes me want to pick up the book!
    Thanks for sharing! :)

    ReplyDelete
  5. This looks really awesome, I like the idea that it will go through generations :) hope you end up enjoying!
    here's my WoW!

    ReplyDelete
  6. Great pick! This is like a modern day Breakfast Club with a twist. Bringing all of the kids with different backgrounds together. I am definitely adding this to my TBR list. Thanks for sharing!

    My WOW: http://jacquesbooknook.blogspot.com/2016/06/waiting-on-wednesday-take-key-and-lock.html

    ReplyDelete
  7. Wow, very interesting. Adding to my list!

    ReplyDelete
  8. This book is new to me! Thanks for sharing!
    Happy Reading! <a href="http://paulettespapers.com/?p=10744”>Dani @ Paulette’s Papers</a>

    ReplyDelete
  9. Very intriguing. I'd like to learn more about each character and see how the story turns out. Thanks for sharing :)

    ReplyDelete
  10. Hmmm, sounds good. :D The blurb is a bit vague & I'm not familiar with the books it's compared to, but I definitely want to give it a try!

    ReplyDelete
  11. Looks interesting! I haven't read anything from this author but I hope it lives up to your expectations :)

    I’m waiting for “The Sun is Also a Star” by Nicola Yoon:)

    ReplyDelete
  12. This one is on my wish list, too. I'm really hoping it's great for both of us, when and if I get to read it, that is. I'm so swamped with library books coming in that have been on hold.

    ReplyDelete
  13. I haven't read Prep or Everything I Never Told You but this sounds pretty good!

    ReplyDelete
  14. This book is new to me, but it sounds good. I hope you enjoy reading it, Eva.
    My WoW

    ReplyDelete
  15. Somewhere I think I saw this or read about this one. I wonder how the teacher gets involved????? Great pick!!

    ReplyDelete
  16. I have read neither Prep nor Everything I Never Told You, but this synopsis is enough to make me want to try this book. Sure sounds intriguing! Great pick, Eva!

    This week, I'm waiting on a prehistoric fantasy! Check it out here

    ReplyDelete
  17. This one is totally new to me! It's not really my kind of read, but it's interesting enough that I might have to check it out...

    Here's my WoW!

    ReplyDelete
  18. I haven't heard of this one yet! It sounds great. I added it to my to read list on Goodreads. :D

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Valentine’s Day Book Tag

I saw Grace @ Rebel Mommy Book Blog do this and it looked fun!  This tag was created by CC's books!
 Stand Alone Book You Love Dystopian Book You Love A Book That You Love But No One Else Talks About Favorite Book Couple Olivia and Caleb from The Opportunist Book That Other People Love But You Haven’t Gotten Around to Read  A Book With Red On The Cover
A Book With Pink On The Cover
You were given a box of chocolate. What fictional boyfriend would have given them to you?

What to Read if You Love The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

This & That – 2 Books with Strong Friendships, a Quest, and SHIPs!This and That” is a feature created by Megan @ Reading Books Likes a Bossand borrowed here with permission. Megan created this feature and I owe this post to her brilliance.  Not only should you check out her blog, generally, but her This & That recommendations are utterly perfect! Megan created this feature to showcase books that either sound similar or have similar themes, and thus I am recommending that you read the "that book" because you are a a fan of the “this book.” 
About the Books: THE RAVEN BOYS (The Raven Cycle #1) by Maggie Stiefvater Every year, Blue Sargent stands next to her clairvoyant mother as the soon-to-be dead walk past. Blue never sees them--until this year, when a boy emerges from the dark and speaks to her.His name is Gansey, a rich student at Aglionby, the local private school. Blue has a policy of staying away from Aglionby boys. Known as Raven Boys, they can only mean trouble.

Review: History of Wolves by Emily Fridlund

History of Wolves by Emily Fridlund

Blurb from Goodreads:
Linda has an idiosyncratic home life: her parents live in abandoned commune cabins in northern Minnesota and are hanging on to the last vestiges of a faded counter-culture world. The kids at school call her 'Freak', or 'Commie'. She is an outsider in all things. Her understanding of the world comes from her observations at school, where her teacher is accused of possessing child pornography, and from watching the seemingly ordinary life of a family she babysits for. Yet while the accusation against the teacher is perhaps more innocent than it seemed at first, the ordinary family turns out to be more complicated. As Linda insinuates her way into the family's orbit, she realises they are hiding something. If she tells the truth, she will lose the normal family life she is beginning to enjoy with them; but if she doesn't, their son may die. Superbly-paced and beautifully written, HISTORY OF WOLVES is an extrao…