Pages

Tuesday, March 24, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday: Trouble is a Friend of Mine by Stephanie Tromly

 "Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that you are eagerly anticipating.

Today, I am waiting on:  
Trouble is a Friend of Mine by Stephanie Tromly!!


From Goodreads:
Sherlock meets The Breakfast Club in this story of a wisecracking girl who meets a weird but brilliant boy and their roller-coaster of a semester that's one part awkward, three parts thrilling, and five parts awesome.

After her parents get divorced, high school junior Zoe Webster moves with her mother from Brooklyn to upstate New York, determined to get back to the city and transfer to the elite private school her father insists on. But then she meets Philip Digby--the odd and brilliant and somehow attractive?--Digby, and soon finds herself in a series of hilarious and dangerous situations all centered on his search for the kidnapper of a local teenage girl who may know something about the tragic disappearance of his kid sister eight years ago. Before she knows it, Zoe has vandalized an office complex with fake snow, pretended to buy drugs alongside a handsome football star dressed like the Hulk, had a serious throw down with a possible religious cult, challenged her controlling father, and, oh yeah, saved her new hometown.

For fans of John Green and David Levithan, this is a crime novel where catching the crook isn't the only hook, a romance where the leading man is decidedly unromantic, a friendship story where they aren't even sure they like each other, and a debut you won't soon forget. 
This is a debut, which I rarely read!  But when Lori at Writing My Own Fairy Tale described this as Veronica Mars meets Scandal, I immediately pre-ordered! I love VM (as you know) and I love Olivia Pope so this could not be more in my wheelhouse. Trouble is a Friend of Mine is scheduled for release on August 4, 2015 and you can pre-order here!!

What books are you waiting on this Wednesday??


12 comments:

  1. Nice pick! Doesn't sound like my kind of read despite my love for Veronica Mars! Hope you enjoy it once you get it!

    Here's my WoW

    Have a GREAT day!

    Old Follower :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. Hmmm... I don't think this is my kind of book, but I hope you love it!!

    Here's my WoW!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Oh I love a cute and fun mystery novel! This sounds right up my alley! I'm going to have to add it to my TBR. Thanks for sharing! Great pick this week :) Check out my Wow:

    Crystal @ Books Unbound

    ReplyDelete
  4. I actually think this looks like it will be fun! I hope you love it!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Sounds like it will be a good one. Hope you get to read it soon.

    ReplyDelete
  6. This sounds awesome, I will have to add it to my TBR!
    Missie @ A Flurry of Ponderings

    ReplyDelete
  7. This is new to me, but it sounds good. I hope you enjoy reading it.
    Thanks for stopping by My WoW.

    ReplyDelete
  8. This sounds interesting, thanks for sharing! Also thanks for stopping by my blog!

    ReplyDelete
  9. I'm not normally a fan of contemporary but this sounds really good! Great pick! And ditto on loving Olivia Pope! I want to be her when I grow up (she makes being a lawyer look sooooo awesome when it's really sooooo boring ha). Thanks for stopping by our WOW!

    Amber R. @ Bibliophilia, Please

    ReplyDelete
  10. This is one I haven't heard of before, so thanks for sharing! I'll definitely be adding it to my tbr. Thanks for stopping by too!

    Tressa @ Wishful Endings

    ReplyDelete
  11. I'm waiting on my request for this one. It sounds great. I hope you love it!

    ReplyDelete

 
Imagination Designs