Skip to main content

Review: In Paris with You by Clémentine Beauvais



Blurb from Goodreads:
For fans of Eleanor & Park and Emergency Contact comes a sweeping romance about the love that got away.

Eugene and Tatiana could have fallen in love, if things had gone differently. If they had tried to really know each other, if it had just been them, and not the others. But that was years ago and time has found them far apart, leading separate lives.

Until they meet again in Paris.

What really happened back then? And now? Could they ever be together again after everything?
My Review:
 
Beyond meh.  I'm not sure if the problem here was the translation or something more fundamental.  This tried to hard to be poetry and ended up being hard to read prose.  It barely skimmed the surface of read-able (as in, not really) and I'm not even sure that I would call its treatment of characters skin-deep.  It need a lot of work, editing, background, plot development, character development . . . I would recommend skipping this one.

In Paris With You came out yesterday on January 8, 2019 and you can purchase HERE.  
Eugene who, as an adolescent, had had a relationship with time that we might characterize as jaded, indifferent, passive, Bored, who, as a teenager, had never impatiently waited for anything-- seriously, nothing at all--- had become, as an adult, like everyone else. (You can give his phone the credit--or the blame-- for that particular development.) Like everyone else, he waited vaguely for the next thing, always the same: the next email, the next weather forecast, the next election, the next plane crash, the next death of a singer from the 1980s, the net terrorist attack, the next pay check,; an adult with a miniature attention span, like everyone else, refreshing, updating, nibbling at time like a ham baguette.

Comments

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

What to Read if You Love The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

This & That – 2 Books with Strong Friendships, a Quest, and SHIPs!This and That” is a feature created by Megan @ Reading Books Likes a Bossand borrowed here with permission. Megan created this feature and I owe this post to her brilliance.  Not only should you check out her blog, generally, but her This & That recommendations are utterly perfect! Megan created this feature to showcase books that either sound similar or have similar themes, and thus I am recommending that you read the "that book" because you are a a fan of the “this book.” 
About the Books: THE RAVEN BOYS (The Raven Cycle #1) by Maggie Stiefvater Every year, Blue Sargent stands next to her clairvoyant mother as the soon-to-be dead walk past. Blue never sees them--until this year, when a boy emerges from the dark and speaks to her.His name is Gansey, a rich student at Aglionby, the local private school. Blue has a policy of staying away from Aglionby boys. Known as Raven Boys, they can only mean trouble.

The Valentine’s Day Book Tag

I saw Grace @ Rebel Mommy Book Blog do this and it looked fun!  This tag was created by CC's books!
 Stand Alone Book You Love Dystopian Book You Love A Book That You Love But No One Else Talks About Favorite Book Couple Olivia and Caleb from The Opportunist Book That Other People Love But You Haven’t Gotten Around to Read  A Book With Red On The Cover
A Book With Pink On The Cover
You were given a box of chocolate. What fictional boyfriend would have given them to you?

I love this trope, sub-genre, setting: My Best Friend's Brother/My Brother's Best Friend

I Love This Trope, Sub-Genre, Setting is a new feature on my blog in which I discuss a trope, sub-genre or setting that I love and tell you about books that are shining examples of said trope, sub-genre or setting.  Feel free to play along and please let me know about your favorite books in this realm and whether you like this trope, sub-genre and/or setting as much as I do! Today I am spotlighting the trope of: My Best Friend's Brother/My Brother's Best Friend, which I would define as any book where the heroine either has a crush on or falls for her brother's best friend or her best friend's brother.

I have to confess that I love this trope in nearly all of its iterations!  I have a younger brother so I never got to crush on any of his friends but it's fun reading about that and it's equally as fun as reading about falling for your best friend's brother -- instant sisters!  I know there are a ton of books that I'm missing/haven't read so please let m…