Pages

Thursday, April 12, 2018

Review: One Way or Another by Colleen Coleman



Blurb from Goodreads:
Twenty-nine-year-old Katie Kelly is at an all-time low. The love of her life, gorgeous Ben Cole, took a job abroad and broke her heart, the restaurant she’d put her all into went bust, and now she works in a retirement home, cooking beige mush for the residents. 

Not exactly the life Katie had dreamed of… 

So when the opportunity comes up to work for one of the best chefs in the country – Katie’s idol – she is determined to get the job, no matter what. But then she discovers who she’s competing against: Ben, who Katie still isn’t over. 

As the competition heats up, Katie and Ben spend more and more time together, and it’s clear the old spark is still there… But only one person can win their perfect job. Can Katie have it all, or will she have to choose between the man and the career she loves? 

A hilarious, heart-warming story about romance, good food, and following your dreams, for fans of Lindsey Kelk, Marian Keyes and Cate Woods. 

My Review:
 
I liked this one a lot!  It was sort of Hell's Kitchen meets Top Chef meets Hallmark movie.  What I really appreciated, however, was the second chance romance.  It was not only technical re: cooking and didn't skimp on those sorts of details but it was really well written to give a full background of the characters.  I really liked Katie.  She was such a strong and multi-dimensional character.  I think the ending was a bit abrupt in some ways but, overall, this was a great read.  It was funny, romantic and had a depth you don't often find in romances.

One Way or Another comes out later this month on April 26, 2018 and you can purchase HERE. I definitely recommend this for fans of Marian Keyes, Sophie Kinsella or Jill Mansell.  This one reminded me a bit of Recipe for Love by Katie Fforde so definitely check that one out, too, if you haven't previously read it.
There was such relief in coming clean, in being open with her, in not pretending that everything is perfect when it's not. I never realised how exhausting being defensive can be, being constantly on guard and fighting unfounded, imagined judgements that only ever existed in my own head. Constantly pre-empting criticism and formulating answers to protect myself when the trust was that those who cared about me just wanted me to be happy. Not perfect, not ultra-successful, not the best: just happy.

3 comments:

  1. What a cute cover! And it looks like the book delivers too!

    ReplyDelete
  2. This sounds really cute and I am always up for a good second chance romance!

    ReplyDelete
  3. You had me at Hell's Kitchen meets Top Chef meets Hallmark movie ! This book wasn't on my radar but I'll have to check it out

    ReplyDelete

 
Imagination Designs