Skip to main content

Review: A Palm Beach Wife by Susannah Marren



Blurb from Goodreads:
For readers of Elin Hilderbrand, a delicious and irresistible commercial novel set among the high society galas and gossip of Palm Beach. 

Amid the glamour and galas and parties of Palm Beach, Faith knows that image often counts as much if not more than reality. She glides effortlessly among the highest of the high society so perfectly that you would never suspect she wasn’t born to this. But it wasn’t always so; though she hides it well, Faith has fought hard for the wonderful life she has, for her loving, successful husband, for her daughter’s future. In this town of secrets and gossip and rumors, Faith has kept a desperate grip on everything she holds so dear, built from so little. And yet even she—the only one who knows just how far she has to fall—never suspects from which direction, or how many directions all at once, betrayal will come.
My Review:
 
It should be criminal to compare this book to anything Elin Hilderbrand has ever written.  This book did not contain an ounce of joy and its language was so clunky that I felt like I was reading an instruction manual, at times.  These characters talked at and over each other, never with one another.  I am honestly mad that I finished this one because the ending was so perverted in attempting to be interesting and/or different.  That is, it was so bad that it became predictable.  I would skip this one unless you want to read about completely vapid characters that are not written well.

A Palm Beach Wife comes out this week on April 9, 2019, and you can purchase HERE. Hopefully you have better luck with this one than I did!
Dreamless. That's what her life has become, Faith realizes an hour after she leaves the shop. She pulls up to the Ritz-Carlton in Fort Lauderdale, parking on the far side of the main entrance, avoiding the valet. By the ocean, south of Palm Beach, the Florida Gold Cost is pacifying. Not her turf, the charm is untainted. 

Comments

  1. I'm sorry this one was a miss for you. I hope your next read is better.
    Krystianna @ Downright Dystopian

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

What to Read if You Love The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

This & That – 2 Books with Strong Friendships, a Quest, and SHIPs!This and That” is a feature created by Megan @ Reading Books Likes a Bossand borrowed here with permission. Megan created this feature and I owe this post to her brilliance.  Not only should you check out her blog, generally, but her This & That recommendations are utterly perfect! Megan created this feature to showcase books that either sound similar or have similar themes, and thus I am recommending that you read the "that book" because you are a a fan of the “this book.” 
About the Books: THE RAVEN BOYS (The Raven Cycle #1) by Maggie Stiefvater Every year, Blue Sargent stands next to her clairvoyant mother as the soon-to-be dead walk past. Blue never sees them--until this year, when a boy emerges from the dark and speaks to her.His name is Gansey, a rich student at Aglionby, the local private school. Blue has a policy of staying away from Aglionby boys. Known as Raven Boys, they can only mean trouble.

The Valentine’s Day Book Tag

I saw Grace @ Rebel Mommy Book Blog do this and it looked fun!  This tag was created by CC's books!
 Stand Alone Book You Love Dystopian Book You Love A Book That You Love But No One Else Talks About Favorite Book Couple Olivia and Caleb from The Opportunist Book That Other People Love But You Haven’t Gotten Around to Read  A Book With Red On The Cover
A Book With Pink On The Cover
You were given a box of chocolate. What fictional boyfriend would have given them to you?

I love this trope, sub-genre, setting: My Best Friend's Brother/My Brother's Best Friend

I Love This Trope, Sub-Genre, Setting is a new feature on my blog in which I discuss a trope, sub-genre or setting that I love and tell you about books that are shining examples of said trope, sub-genre or setting.  Feel free to play along and please let me know about your favorite books in this realm and whether you like this trope, sub-genre and/or setting as much as I do! Today I am spotlighting the trope of: My Best Friend's Brother/My Brother's Best Friend, which I would define as any book where the heroine either has a crush on or falls for her brother's best friend or her best friend's brother.

I have to confess that I love this trope in nearly all of its iterations!  I have a younger brother so I never got to crush on any of his friends but it's fun reading about that and it's equally as fun as reading about falling for your best friend's brother -- instant sisters!  I know there are a ton of books that I'm missing/haven't read so please let m…