Skip to main content

Review: Kissing Ted Callahan (and Other Guys) by Amy Spalding



Blurb from Goodreads:
Nick and Norah's Infinite Playlist meets Easy A in this hilariously realistic story of sneaking out, making out, and playing in a band.

After catching their bandmates in a compromising position, sixteen-year-old Los Angelenos Riley and Reid become painfully aware of the romance missing from their own lives. And so a pact is formed: they'll both try to make something happen with their respective crushes and document the experiences in a shared notebook.

While Reid struggles with the moral dilemma of adopting a dog to win over someone's heart, Riley tries to make progress with Ted Callahan, who she's been obsessed with forever-His floppy hair! His undeniable intelligence! But suddenly cute guys are popping up everywhere. How did she never notice them before?! With their love lives going from 0 to 60 in the blink of an eye, Riley and Reid realize the results of their pact may be more than they bargained for. 
My Review:
 
I have to say that I am still baffled a bit by this book!  I actually enjoyed reading it -- obviously by the rating -- but the entire time I also felt like, is this real life? What I mean by that is that I really felt like, how is this a book?  It was that natural -- told between first person POV from Riley and Reid's entries in the Passenger Log -- a sort of slam book for their conquests/attempts kept between Riley and Reid.  And Riley?  She was almost too cool?  I wanted to be her but I did feel like she could be a bad friend a time -- being completely dismissive when she wanted to but I also felt like this was a true emotion for someone her age.  

As a huge music fan, I loved all the description of the band practices, the record shopping, the music venues in LA -- it completely reminded me of being in high school.  I would definitely recommend this for fans of Rainbow Rowell, David Levithan, Elizabeth Eulberg and other authors that write mature yet quirky YA.

Kissing Ted Callahan (and Other Guys) just came out, and you can purchase HERE!
I've been in love with him for at least five months, but he doesn't talk to me often.  His words are blue sky, cutting through the clouds of our previously uncommunicative ways.

Comments

  1. I kinda love the whole feeling the book gave you, I will have to check it out!
    Missie @ A Flurry of Ponderings

    ReplyDelete
  2. Sounds like a David Levithan/Rachel Cohn read to me. Glad to hear you enjoyed this book and it's sort of whacky premise. Wonderful review, Eva! :)

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Valentine’s Day Book Tag

I saw Grace @ Rebel Mommy Book Blog do this and it looked fun!  This tag was created by CC's books!
 Stand Alone Book You Love Dystopian Book You Love A Book That You Love But No One Else Talks About Favorite Book Couple Olivia and Caleb from The Opportunist Book That Other People Love But You Haven’t Gotten Around to Read  A Book With Red On The Cover
A Book With Pink On The Cover
You were given a box of chocolate. What fictional boyfriend would have given them to you?

What to Read if You Love The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

This & That – 2 Books with Strong Friendships, a Quest, and SHIPs!This and That” is a feature created by Megan @ Reading Books Likes a Bossand borrowed here with permission. Megan created this feature and I owe this post to her brilliance.  Not only should you check out her blog, generally, but her This & That recommendations are utterly perfect! Megan created this feature to showcase books that either sound similar or have similar themes, and thus I am recommending that you read the "that book" because you are a a fan of the “this book.” 
About the Books: THE RAVEN BOYS (The Raven Cycle #1) by Maggie Stiefvater Every year, Blue Sargent stands next to her clairvoyant mother as the soon-to-be dead walk past. Blue never sees them--until this year, when a boy emerges from the dark and speaks to her.His name is Gansey, a rich student at Aglionby, the local private school. Blue has a policy of staying away from Aglionby boys. Known as Raven Boys, they can only mean trouble.

Review: History of Wolves by Emily Fridlund

History of Wolves by Emily Fridlund

Blurb from Goodreads:
Linda has an idiosyncratic home life: her parents live in abandoned commune cabins in northern Minnesota and are hanging on to the last vestiges of a faded counter-culture world. The kids at school call her 'Freak', or 'Commie'. She is an outsider in all things. Her understanding of the world comes from her observations at school, where her teacher is accused of possessing child pornography, and from watching the seemingly ordinary life of a family she babysits for. Yet while the accusation against the teacher is perhaps more innocent than it seemed at first, the ordinary family turns out to be more complicated. As Linda insinuates her way into the family's orbit, she realises they are hiding something. If she tells the truth, she will lose the normal family life she is beginning to enjoy with them; but if she doesn't, their son may die. Superbly-paced and beautifully written, HISTORY OF WOLVES is an extrao…