Pages

Sunday, April 12, 2015

Review: Kissing Ted Callahan (and Other Guys) by Amy Spalding



Blurb from Goodreads:
Nick and Norah's Infinite Playlist meets Easy A in this hilariously realistic story of sneaking out, making out, and playing in a band.

After catching their bandmates in a compromising position, sixteen-year-old Los Angelenos Riley and Reid become painfully aware of the romance missing from their own lives. And so a pact is formed: they'll both try to make something happen with their respective crushes and document the experiences in a shared notebook.

While Reid struggles with the moral dilemma of adopting a dog to win over someone's heart, Riley tries to make progress with Ted Callahan, who she's been obsessed with forever-His floppy hair! His undeniable intelligence! But suddenly cute guys are popping up everywhere. How did she never notice them before?! With their love lives going from 0 to 60 in the blink of an eye, Riley and Reid realize the results of their pact may be more than they bargained for. 
My Review:
 
I have to say that I am still baffled a bit by this book!  I actually enjoyed reading it -- obviously by the rating -- but the entire time I also felt like, is this real life? What I mean by that is that I really felt like, how is this a book?  It was that natural -- told between first person POV from Riley and Reid's entries in the Passenger Log -- a sort of slam book for their conquests/attempts kept between Riley and Reid.  And Riley?  She was almost too cool?  I wanted to be her but I did feel like she could be a bad friend a time -- being completely dismissive when she wanted to but I also felt like this was a true emotion for someone her age.  

As a huge music fan, I loved all the description of the band practices, the record shopping, the music venues in LA -- it completely reminded me of being in high school.  I would definitely recommend this for fans of Rainbow Rowell, David Levithan, Elizabeth Eulberg and other authors that write mature yet quirky YA.

Kissing Ted Callahan (and Other Guys) just came out, and you can purchase HERE!
I've been in love with him for at least five months, but he doesn't talk to me often.  His words are blue sky, cutting through the clouds of our previously uncommunicative ways.

2 comments:

  1. I kinda love the whole feeling the book gave you, I will have to check it out!
    Missie @ A Flurry of Ponderings

    ReplyDelete
  2. Sounds like a David Levithan/Rachel Cohn read to me. Glad to hear you enjoyed this book and it's sort of whacky premise. Wonderful review, Eva! :)

    ReplyDelete

 
Imagination Designs