Skip to main content

Review: No Place to Hide by Susan Lewis



Blurb from Goodreads:
Susan Lewis, the internationally bestselling author of more than thirty novels, delivers her first novel set in the United States! Perfect for readers of Diane Chamberlain, Lewis is a master at evoking the emotional intensity of complex domestic dramas.

Fleeing England from a broken marriage, Justine returns to her grandmother’s hometown on picturesque Lake Maxinkuckee, Indiana. There she hopes for a fresh start, and a chance to heal her broken heart in the pristine lakeside surroundings. But an ocean may not be enough to protect Justine from the devastating secrets that drove her away, and the memories that continue to haunt her new life...  
My Review:
 
No Place To Hide is a book driven by the Justine (the MC) fleeing  to the U.S. from a deep, dark secret in England.  There were a lot of flashbacks to Justine's former, ideal life interspersed with the tatters of her current life post-secret.  These flashbacks and the first bit of the book were well written and intriguing.  However, once it was finally revealed what this deep, dark secret is, the book was a bit anti-climatic.  I think the secret was built up so much that there was no way it could have been as bad as the it was supposed to be.  Granted, it was not something pleasant and it was shocking, but from the MC's actions, I was expecting something vastly different. It just made no sense to me that she would have taken the actions she took as a result of this secret.  There was also another backstory within her family that had no place in this book as well as a scene at the end when the MC is in a fever dream for a week that was totally confusing and should not have made the final cut.  These small details detracted from the better parts of the book and left me ultimately unsatisfied.

That being said, I would recommend this to anyone that likes mysteries along the lines of Jodi Picoult or Diane Chamberlain.  This book has those same twists and turns but without the exact execution of those authors.  No Place To Hide was just released a few weeks ago, and you can purchase HERE!  
So this was what it was like beyond the corn-silk veil. 
Others called it a curtain, but she preferred veil.  This allowed for a more dreamlike connection between the blue skies and still waters of this hauntingly beautiful town, and the world out there, filled with cornfields, highways, cities, oceans-- the world, the family, she'd left behind. 

Comments

  1. That stinks that the reveal was kind of not up to what it was built up to be. I hate when that happens. Great review!

    ReplyDelete
  2. I really really hate when the big reveal in a book turns out to be a dud, especially if I'm actually enjoying the book up to that point!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I do like Jodi Picoult books so maybe I will check this out!
    Jen @ YA Romantics

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

I love this trope, sub-genre, setting: My Best Friend's Brother/My Brother's Best Friend

I Love This Trope, Sub-Genre, Setting is a new feature on my blog in which I discuss a trope, sub-genre or setting that I love and tell you about books that are shining examples of said trope, sub-genre or setting.  Feel free to play along and please let me know about your favorite books in this realm and whether you like this trope, sub-genre and/or setting as much as I do! Today I am spotlighting the trope of:  My Best Friend's Brother/My Brother's Best Friend , which I would define as any book where the heroine either has a crush on or falls for her brother's best friend or her best friend's brother. I have to confess that I love this trope in nearly all of its iterations!  I have a younger brother so I never got to crush on any of his friends but it's fun reading about that and it's equally as fun as reading about falling for your best friend's brother -- instant sisters!  I know there are a ton

The Valentine’s Day Book Tag

I saw  Grace @ Rebel Mommy Book Blog  do this and it looked fun!  This tag was created by CC's books !  Stand Alone Book You Love Dystopian Book You Love A Book That You Love But No One Else Talks About Favorite Book Couple Olivia and Caleb from The Opportunist Book That Other People Love But You Haven’t Gotten Around to Read  A Book With Red On The Cover A Book With Pink On The Cover You were given a box of chocolate. What fictional boyfriend would have given them to you? You are Single on Valentines Day. What Book would you read? What TV show would you watch? What Movie would you watch? Read: TV: Movie: You are in the Book Store. All of a Sudden you get shot with an arrow by Cupid. What New Release will you love? Who are you going to tag? Anyone who wants to do it! ♥♥♥ 

I love this trope, sub-genre, setting: Libraries and Bookstores!!

I Love This Trope, Sub-Genre, Setting is a new feature on my blog in which I discuss a trope, sub-genre or setting that I love and tell you about books that are shining examples of said trope, sub-genre or setting.  Feel free to play along and please let me know about your favorite books in this realm and whether you like this trope, sub-genre and/or setting as much as I do! Today I am spotlighting the setting of:  Libraries and Bookstores , which I would loosely define as any book that largely takes place at a library or bookstore or involves characters that work at a library or bookstore. What could be more lovely to a book lover than a book with characters that also love books?!  I love this mix of genres with this setting -- cozy mystery, contemporary romance, UF, YA, romantic suspense, sci-fi. I know there are a ton of books that I'm missing/haven't read so please let me know! Have you ever read a book set