Skip to main content

Review: Don't You Forget About Me by Mhairi McFarlane



Blurb from Goodreads:
Sunday Times bestselling author Mhairi McFarlane delivers a funny, romantic novel perfect for fans of Josie Silver or Sally Thorne, and anyone who loves Bridget Jones!

You always remember your first love... don’t you?

If there’s anything worse than being fired from the worst restaurant in town, it’s coming home early to find your boyfriend in bed with someone else. Reeling from the humiliation of a double dumping in one day, Georgina takes the next job that comes her way—bartender in a newly opened pub. There’s only one problem: it’s run by the guy she fell in love with years ago. And—make that two problems—he doesn’t remember her. At all. But she has fabulous friends and her signature hot pink fur coat... what more could a girl really need?

Lucas McCarthy has not only grown into a broodingly handsome man, but he’s also turned into an actual grown-up, with a thriving business and a dog along the way. Crossing paths with him again throws Georgina’s rocky present into sharp relief—and brings a secret from her past bubbling to the surface. Only she knows what happened twelve years ago, and why she’s allowed the memories to chase her ever since. But maybe it’s not too late for the truth... or a second chance with the one that got away? 
My Review:
I have to admit that, solely based on the cover, I wasn't expecting this to be quite so thoughtful.  That being said, I love this book!  I honestly hadn't read anything by this author before and I am kicking myself for that fact. But the good news is that now I get to go read her backlist.  This definitely is very British but I couldn't necessarily compare it to any other authors.  I loved the story, the second-chance romance, the characters ... truly, everything. 

Don't You Forget About Me comes out next month on September 10, 2019, you can purchase HERE!  I loved this so much and highly recommend it!!
Did I have him, even fleetingly? Only my diary stands as proof, yet I can't bear to look at it. It lives at the bottom of my bra drawer, always close and yet forever untouched. 

Comments

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

I love this trope, sub-genre, setting: My Best Friend's Brother/My Brother's Best Friend

I Love This Trope, Sub-Genre, Setting is a new feature on my blog in which I discuss a trope, sub-genre or setting that I love and tell you about books that are shining examples of said trope, sub-genre or setting.  Feel free to play along and please let me know about your favorite books in this realm and whether you like this trope, sub-genre and/or setting as much as I do! Today I am spotlighting the trope of:  My Best Friend's Brother/My Brother's Best Friend , which I would define as any book where the heroine either has a crush on or falls for her brother's best friend or her best friend's brother. I have to confess that I love this trope in nearly all of its iterations!  I have a younger brother so I never got to crush on any of his friends but it's fun reading about that and it's equally as fun as reading about falling for your best friend's brother -- instant sisters!  I know there are a ton

The Valentine’s Day Book Tag

I saw  Grace @ Rebel Mommy Book Blog  do this and it looked fun!  This tag was created by CC's books !  Stand Alone Book You Love Dystopian Book You Love A Book That You Love But No One Else Talks About Favorite Book Couple Olivia and Caleb from The Opportunist Book That Other People Love But You Haven’t Gotten Around to Read  A Book With Red On The Cover A Book With Pink On The Cover You were given a box of chocolate. What fictional boyfriend would have given them to you? You are Single on Valentines Day. What Book would you read? What TV show would you watch? What Movie would you watch? Read: TV: Movie: You are in the Book Store. All of a Sudden you get shot with an arrow by Cupid. What New Release will you love? Who are you going to tag? Anyone who wants to do it! ♥♥♥ 

I love this trope, sub-genre, setting: Libraries and Bookstores!!

I Love This Trope, Sub-Genre, Setting is a new feature on my blog in which I discuss a trope, sub-genre or setting that I love and tell you about books that are shining examples of said trope, sub-genre or setting.  Feel free to play along and please let me know about your favorite books in this realm and whether you like this trope, sub-genre and/or setting as much as I do! Today I am spotlighting the setting of:  Libraries and Bookstores , which I would loosely define as any book that largely takes place at a library or bookstore or involves characters that work at a library or bookstore. What could be more lovely to a book lover than a book with characters that also love books?!  I love this mix of genres with this setting -- cozy mystery, contemporary romance, UF, YA, romantic suspense, sci-fi. I know there are a ton of books that I'm missing/haven't read so please let me know! Have you ever read a book set