Skip to main content

Waiting on Wednesday: Trouble is a Friend of Mine by Stephanie Tromly

 "Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that you are eagerly anticipating.

Today, I am waiting on:  
Trouble is a Friend of Mine by Stephanie Tromly!!


From Goodreads:
Sherlock meets The Breakfast Club in this story of a wisecracking girl who meets a weird but brilliant boy and their roller-coaster of a semester that's one part awkward, three parts thrilling, and five parts awesome.

After her parents get divorced, high school junior Zoe Webster moves with her mother from Brooklyn to upstate New York, determined to get back to the city and transfer to the elite private school her father insists on. But then she meets Philip Digby--the odd and brilliant and somehow attractive?--Digby, and soon finds herself in a series of hilarious and dangerous situations all centered on his search for the kidnapper of a local teenage girl who may know something about the tragic disappearance of his kid sister eight years ago. Before she knows it, Zoe has vandalized an office complex with fake snow, pretended to buy drugs alongside a handsome football star dressed like the Hulk, had a serious throw down with a possible religious cult, challenged her controlling father, and, oh yeah, saved her new hometown.

For fans of John Green and David Levithan, this is a crime novel where catching the crook isn't the only hook, a romance where the leading man is decidedly unromantic, a friendship story where they aren't even sure they like each other, and a debut you won't soon forget. 
This is a debut, which I rarely read!  But when Lori at Writing My Own Fairy Tale described this as Veronica Mars meets Scandal, I immediately pre-ordered! I love VM (as you know) and I love Olivia Pope so this could not be more in my wheelhouse. Trouble is a Friend of Mine is scheduled for release on August 4, 2015 and you can pre-order here!!

What books are you waiting on this Wednesday??


Comments

  1. Nice pick! Doesn't sound like my kind of read despite my love for Veronica Mars! Hope you enjoy it once you get it!

    Here's my WoW

    Have a GREAT day!

    Old Follower :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. Hmmm... I don't think this is my kind of book, but I hope you love it!!

    Here's my WoW!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Oh I love a cute and fun mystery novel! This sounds right up my alley! I'm going to have to add it to my TBR. Thanks for sharing! Great pick this week :) Check out my Wow:

    Crystal @ Books Unbound

    ReplyDelete
  4. I actually think this looks like it will be fun! I hope you love it!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Sounds like it will be a good one. Hope you get to read it soon.

    ReplyDelete
  6. This sounds awesome, I will have to add it to my TBR!
    Missie @ A Flurry of Ponderings

    ReplyDelete
  7. This is new to me, but it sounds good. I hope you enjoy reading it.
    Thanks for stopping by My WoW.

    ReplyDelete
  8. This sounds interesting, thanks for sharing! Also thanks for stopping by my blog!

    ReplyDelete
  9. I'm not normally a fan of contemporary but this sounds really good! Great pick! And ditto on loving Olivia Pope! I want to be her when I grow up (she makes being a lawyer look sooooo awesome when it's really sooooo boring ha). Thanks for stopping by our WOW!

    Amber R. @ Bibliophilia, Please

    ReplyDelete
  10. This is one I haven't heard of before, so thanks for sharing! I'll definitely be adding it to my tbr. Thanks for stopping by too!

    Tressa @ Wishful Endings

    ReplyDelete
  11. I'm waiting on my request for this one. It sounds great. I hope you love it!

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

I love this trope, sub-genre, setting: My Best Friend's Brother/My Brother's Best Friend

I Love This Trope, Sub-Genre, Setting is a new feature on my blog in which I discuss a trope, sub-genre or setting that I love and tell you about books that are shining examples of said trope, sub-genre or setting.  Feel free to play along and please let me know about your favorite books in this realm and whether you like this trope, sub-genre and/or setting as much as I do! Today I am spotlighting the trope of:  My Best Friend's Brother/My Brother's Best Friend , which I would define as any book where the heroine either has a crush on or falls for her brother's best friend or her best friend's brother. I have to confess that I love this trope in nearly all of its iterations!  I have a younger brother so I never got to crush on any of his friends but it's fun reading about that and it's equally as fun as reading about falling for your best friend's brother -- instant sisters!  I know there are a ton

The Valentine’s Day Book Tag

I saw  Grace @ Rebel Mommy Book Blog  do this and it looked fun!  This tag was created by CC's books !  Stand Alone Book You Love Dystopian Book You Love A Book That You Love But No One Else Talks About Favorite Book Couple Olivia and Caleb from The Opportunist Book That Other People Love But You Haven’t Gotten Around to Read  A Book With Red On The Cover A Book With Pink On The Cover You were given a box of chocolate. What fictional boyfriend would have given them to you? You are Single on Valentines Day. What Book would you read? What TV show would you watch? What Movie would you watch? Read: TV: Movie: You are in the Book Store. All of a Sudden you get shot with an arrow by Cupid. What New Release will you love? Who are you going to tag? Anyone who wants to do it! ♥♥♥ 

I love this trope, sub-genre, setting: Libraries and Bookstores!!

I Love This Trope, Sub-Genre, Setting is a new feature on my blog in which I discuss a trope, sub-genre or setting that I love and tell you about books that are shining examples of said trope, sub-genre or setting.  Feel free to play along and please let me know about your favorite books in this realm and whether you like this trope, sub-genre and/or setting as much as I do! Today I am spotlighting the setting of:  Libraries and Bookstores , which I would loosely define as any book that largely takes place at a library or bookstore or involves characters that work at a library or bookstore. What could be more lovely to a book lover than a book with characters that also love books?!  I love this mix of genres with this setting -- cozy mystery, contemporary romance, UF, YA, romantic suspense, sci-fi. I know there are a ton of books that I'm missing/haven't read so please let me know! Have you ever read a book set