Skip to main content

Review: Bridged (Mason Callahan #2) by Kendra Elliot

Bridged (Mason Callahan #2) by Kendra Elliot 


Blurb from Goodreads:
After a congressman’s tortured body is found dangling from a Portland bridge, the FBI joins the Oregon State Police to investigate the case—and FBI Special Agent Ava McLane, still recovering from a bullet wound, hunts the twisted killer alongside the man who captured her heart, police detective Mason Callahan.

But once a third body appears and all evidence points to a serial killer, the public furiously clamors for answers—and the couple’s relationship grows fractured under the pressure. Ava and Mason search in the past for clues that predict the future. And when Ava’s mentally ill twin spins out of control, the FBI agent who battles monsters every day wonders if she shares her sister’s self-destructive streak…

In the latest thrilling romantic suspense novel from award-winning author Kendra Elliot, the past and the present violently collide…and the fallout can be deadly.
My Review:
 
Bridged is the second book in the romantic suspense series, The Mason Callahan series, by Kendra Elliot. I read the first book, Vanished, before I read Bridged and I recommend reading the series in order because you really see the character development and get a sense of Mason and Ava on their own. is the second book in the series. I always try to read a series in order and advise my friends to do the same.  Bridged is definitely a superb  romantic suspense but the emphasis is on the suspense.  This series follows Mason (who is a State Police Detective) and Ava (who is an FBI Agent) through solving crimes and their budding relationship.

I absolutely love Mason and Ava, and adore them trying to catch a killer in this book!  Ava is so strong but she has her moments when she is vulnerable and lets Mason in.  The thing is -- he needs her just a much so they are a great team at work and a great team at home.  In this book, without giving too much away, Ava gets seriously involved with the killer they are trying to catch.  One of the truly unique pieces of backstory in this series is that Ava has a twin, Jayne.  Jayne is unstable and you will not believe the actions she takes -- basically the opposite of controlled, steady and diligent Ava.  But they are good foils!!  I thoroughly enjoyed this book and I really like this series.  It is set in Oregon (Portland) and the beauty and uniqueness of the state is definitely a constant background.  Kendra Elliot does a fantastic job of setting the scene and drawing you into this world.  

I am already counting this series among my favorite in romantic suspense.  I highly recommend for fans of Linda Howard, Sandra Brown, Catherine Coulter, and Rachel Grant.  Read this series now because the third book, Spiraled, comes out June 2, 2015, and this is definitely a series you want to read!!
Who would have thought that sharing a cup of coffee in the morning would be one of the highlights of his day?

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

I love this trope, sub-genre, setting: My Best Friend's Brother/My Brother's Best Friend

I Love This Trope, Sub-Genre, Setting is a new feature on my blog in which I discuss a trope, sub-genre or setting that I love and tell you about books that are shining examples of said trope, sub-genre or setting.  Feel free to play along and please let me know about your favorite books in this realm and whether you like this trope, sub-genre and/or setting as much as I do! Today I am spotlighting the trope of:  My Best Friend's Brother/My Brother's Best Friend , which I would define as any book where the heroine either has a crush on or falls for her brother's best friend or her best friend's brother. I have to confess that I love this trope in nearly all of its iterations!  I have a younger brother so I never got to crush on any of his friends but it's fun reading about that and it's equally as fun as reading about falling for your best friend's brother -- instant sisters!  I know there are a ton

The Valentine’s Day Book Tag

I saw  Grace @ Rebel Mommy Book Blog  do this and it looked fun!  This tag was created by CC's books !  Stand Alone Book You Love Dystopian Book You Love A Book That You Love But No One Else Talks About Favorite Book Couple Olivia and Caleb from The Opportunist Book That Other People Love But You Haven’t Gotten Around to Read  A Book With Red On The Cover A Book With Pink On The Cover You were given a box of chocolate. What fictional boyfriend would have given them to you? You are Single on Valentines Day. What Book would you read? What TV show would you watch? What Movie would you watch? Read: TV: Movie: You are in the Book Store. All of a Sudden you get shot with an arrow by Cupid. What New Release will you love? Who are you going to tag? Anyone who wants to do it! ♥♥♥ 

I love this trope, sub-genre, setting: Libraries and Bookstores!!

I Love This Trope, Sub-Genre, Setting is a new feature on my blog in which I discuss a trope, sub-genre or setting that I love and tell you about books that are shining examples of said trope, sub-genre or setting.  Feel free to play along and please let me know about your favorite books in this realm and whether you like this trope, sub-genre and/or setting as much as I do! Today I am spotlighting the setting of:  Libraries and Bookstores , which I would loosely define as any book that largely takes place at a library or bookstore or involves characters that work at a library or bookstore. What could be more lovely to a book lover than a book with characters that also love books?!  I love this mix of genres with this setting -- cozy mystery, contemporary romance, UF, YA, romantic suspense, sci-fi. I know there are a ton of books that I'm missing/haven't read so please let me know! Have you ever read a book set